I Love . . .

I’m really crazy about my children.  I think about them and worry about them a lot, even though  they’re all grown men.  (The youngest is 32!)  My husband and I spend a lot of time reminiscing about things they did when they were younger — maybe too much?

I love cities!  Truthfully, I’m not too crazy about nature, but I love looking at all the things people can make.  I love to walk along a city street, windowshopping and enjoying the buildings and gardens.  In Charleston, I like to peek into people’s windows.

I love to read.  I’m not comfortable unless I have a few books going at a time.  I have books stashed all over my house.  I read when I’m doing dishes.  I read when I’m knitting.  I read when I’m brushing my teeth!

I love my house.  It’s over a hundred years old.  We have high ceilings and pine floors and big rooms.  We have a screened porch where we eat dinner every night from April to October and a deck that’s like a treehouse.  We have big old windows and a big yard full of trees.  We’ve lived in this house for forty years.  First it was empty, then we filled it with three kids and their friends, then it emptied out again.  Now it’s just the two of us again.

Leave a Reply

